In October 1988, then-President Ronald Reagan proclaimed the month of October as National Pregnancy and Infant Loss Awareness Month.  And, in addition, October 15th is Pregnancy and Infant Loss Remembrance Day.  Who knew there was such a month in existence?  I sure didn’t.  This is my first October with this being something that directly affects me.  Of course, this affects us and our families year round, but this is our month to raise awareness and help others to understand the pain we all go through and to encourage others to remember all of our little ones gone too soon.  The life-altering pain.  The pain you could never know unless you’ve been through it.  There are so many people out there who have been affected by this.  Yet, I’m not sure how they seem to stay hidden from the general public (the unaffected).  I guess the reality is that many people turn a blind eye to it.  The fact that babies die.  All the time.  I didn’t know babies died until weeks/months after our Evan died (in fact, I’m still not sure I full grasp this concept).  I could read about stories of babies that died all day, but it doesn’t seem to hit home, until, well, it hits home.

In addition to supporting the MISS Foundation by participating in the MISS Remembrance Walk in Richmond, VA on October 20th (Go Team Turtle!) and raising money for this organization, I have decided to start a photography challenge for the month of October.  I am already a few days behind, but I will catch up in the next day or two.  Details for the project can be found here.  CarlyMarie is doing wonderful things for the bereaved parent community.  Not only is she helping to raise awareness with her projects, she is helping a community of parents find comfort in this crazy walk called grief.  Doing remembrance ceremonies for not only her lost child, but for other parents’ lost children as well.  On her website, she has posted a list of 31 subjects to photograph (or use old photos) as we as parents (or anyone else participating!) interpret those subjects in her list.

Each day, I will (try to) post a photo for the subject on that particular day.  I can’t promise that these will be uplifting.  It’s not necessarily meant to be uplifting (although you can definitely go that route – it all depends on where you are in your walk, or journey, or whatever we’re supposed to call it).  It’s supposed to be your take on things, as a grieving parent.  So, I’m not promising optimistic, “I’m healing” photos.  Ha.  Not quite.  But, I think it’s a great exercise, and if nothing else, gives me something to do (although, I don’t need more to do – there is no one busier than a grieving parent) and keeps the blog updated.  And, anything I can do that is Evan related, I’m all over it 🙂

